the STRENGTH in taking coaching

“If you’re bored with life… if you don’t get up every morning with a burning desire to do things… you don’t have enough goals.” – Lou Holtz

In all respects, this post may be a little confusing immediately following the last one: If there is a problem and a solution, solve the problem.  In that post I shared my view on being proactive in solving problems rather than looking for someone else to do it for you.

In an effort to reduce confusion I must share two possibly unknown facts about myself…

The first… probably not a surprise depending on how well you know me…

I am a slight (big time) control freak

And the second…

I have a slight (MAJOR) love (OBSESSION) with ESPN, ESPN Radio and an unexplained love of basketball

The love continues with College Football… but growing up in Columbus, Ohio – Buckeye Football runs through our blood so that one isn’t surprising. 

So, how do these two facts about myself relate to the STRENGTH in taking coaching?

Wednesday morning I drove into work in my usual manor…  listening to Mike and Mike in the morning (note the obsession with ESPN).  They were discussing the surprising Game 5 Boston Celtics win over the Miami Heat.  The discussion arose about the differences in talent vs team and coaching styles of Doc Rivers and Erik Spoelstra.  Tim Legler was a guest on the show that morning and his statement struck a very powerful cord with me.

He said… watch the Celtics and watch the Heat.  When Rondo (another favorite of mine) takes the ball up the court he has one eye on Doc and one eye on his team – getting direction from his coach AND helping guide and lead the play from his team on the court. In contrast when you watch the Heat take it up the court they aren’t looking for guidance or leadership from their coaches, instead it looks like a game of pickup ball.  Although I am a big Celtics fan I will give the Heat this… when they play their game… they are amazing… but it isn’t a team game played with confidence in their coaches, rather it is a talent game of pick up ball.

Legler’s observation struck such a powerful cord with me.  As an (aspiring?) athlete … or at least someone who strives to be as physical as possible and in a period of exploring my own role as a coach I have had the rare opportunity to take a look at my self from the outside and see when I push back against my coaches’ advice and when I allow the release of control and trust in their leadership and guidance.

Slowly but surely I am “giving in” and trusting the experts… it’s an ongoing process and I find it relates to life in general… personal and professional.  How many times have I had a coach tell me to take a rest day… cut back on something… trust the process… and yet – although I trust them as my coach I say… sure, sure… and then do something that I think is better for me?  MANY TIMES!  Personally, I know I panic when I am not on a strict routine.  Throw off my pattern and I’m a mess.  Every time a training plan or schedule changes my workouts suffer for a short period because mentally I’m struggling so much with the change.  I’m learning that this struggle is even a part of my coaches’ bigger plans!

Bringing in Legler’s statement and taking into account how far you can go on sheer talent versus as a team… to me a team can mean everything from a traditional team (on a court, field, track), to your co-workers, friends, or family… the key is having the confidence in yourself to NOT be the expert and trust your coach.  Have the TRUE Strength to give up control and have faith in the process.

Trusting your coach and giving up the perception that you know more than they do is like being given a key to unlock territory you don’t even know exits!  As you travel this road learning and growing you will also find yourself in the position to provide this gift of coaching to others.

In life whether you are in the gym, at your office or at home have the TRUE Strength in taking coaching.

3 responses to “the STRENGTH in taking coaching

  1. Pingback: the STRENGTH in the magnetism | TRUE Strength

Leave a Reply

