Here’s to the crazy ones…

“Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”  – Apple Inc.

Over the last few days I’ve had great conversations with true friends.  Multiple times our conversations circled back to the concept that there is not one straight line to the goal of life.  At least not one we want to travel.

No longer do we see our futures as the straight, direct path, once held by our parents and grandparents as the way to reach success or happiness.  Instead, it’s windy, up and down, bendy, flexible… and sometimes may not make ANY sense.  AND… it feels right.  I may not be able to explain the whole path to someone else… but I do know my heart and TRUE Strength knows this path is right.  I look at my professional life, goals and dreams.  My professional road will not be straight and may not make much sense to other people.  It will however, provide invaluable experiences, lessons, growth, challenges, and will provide a full offering of what I am passionate about and 100% dedicated to.  Several times people have asked… well what do you want to do… I can tell you… but it probably won’t make much sense until you see me dancing the dance.

Makes me think about the summer before my freshman year of college when people would ask me what I was going to major in… I’d answer “Igloo Architecture”  (sassy response provided by my mom).  Everyone was caught off guard and ultimately didn’t care what my answer was… no matter what my response they were asking really for two bottom line reasons… 1. to make small talk or 2. to give their opinion on what I SHOULD major in.

The same is true for my own personal life… I married an amazing man, I’m now a mom to a 12 year old (read a little about him here), our life is not the easy, direct straight A to B to C life… nor do I want it to be!

I’ve been told I’m “crazy” for my love (obsession) with CrossFit or how I love the challenge of having stretch goals, getting my butt kicked, doing what I didn’t think possible… all of the above.  Several times a week I hear a co-worker or friend say… in the most lovingly way… “wow, you’re crazy” YES… I get up several days a week at 4:40am to train (4:30am to coach!), YES, after a long day at the office I ENJOY going to get my ass handed to me in a strength session, YES, I really do like eating clean which means no processed or fried foods (mostly #paleo).

My life… every aspect is not lived on or within a straight line… perhaps all this sounds crazy… but just like the quote above says… us crazies are the ones who, change things. … push the human race forward.”

Your path is different than mine, as it should be! 

The journey may be crooked, full of twists, or waves… I know I’m not going to let anyone try to  straighten mine out… I’m enjoying the beauty in the unknown, the creativity,the progression, and the growth not only in myself, but also in those around me.  

Leave a Reply

