To be wealthy… not rich

“To live content with small means; to seek elegance rather than luxury, and refinement rather than fashion; to be worthy, not respectable, and wealthy, not, rich; to listen to stars and birds, babes and sages, with open heart; to study hard; to think quietly, act frankly, talk gently, await occasions, hurry never; in a word, to let the spiritual, unbidden and unconscious, grow up through the common –this is my symphony.” – William Henry Channing

As I type these words I am struck my the power in them… and even the power in the physical action of typing them.  They are becoming committed to my definition of TRUE Strength.  This is the way I want to conduct my life, my goals, my family, and my future.

Elegance and grace over luxury.  To live without want. To learn with an open heart and an eager desire.

To be TRUE-ly wealthy.   

A person can be surrounded by riches, gold, toys, and money… and at the same time lacking in all the true wealth of the world.  Life should not be spent tied to your desk, phone, or email.  TRUE Wealth is not necessarily found in your paycheck.  It’s found in those you spend your time with (others AND yourself!!!) It’s found in your laughter, your memories, your triumphs and struggles, your growth and lessons taught and learned.

May you find your wealth… not your rich.

TRUE Strength 

Leave a Reply

