Modify THIS

I kind of want the title to be “Modify My Ass” but to keep this pretty much PG we can go with “THIS”

Yesterday was a tough CrossFit night and to be honest this whole week has been a tough mental struggle.  The reason for the frustration?  The many modifications while working out and CrossFitting and the mental struggles that come along with the changing body taking care of our growing twins.

Our doctor is getting a little concerned with the position of “Baby A” and to spare the details he pulled back a lot on the reins regarding my workouts. We go back in a week to see how things are progressing.  I see two options… things can be the same and he can say… ok – you can pick up the pace a bit… OR… even more limitations and modifications.  No matter the verdict I will agree because the babies’ health is the only priority.  I do struggle with the mental effects and impacts of stress caused by these restrictions.

Now, to keep the dramatics in check… yes, I am still working out at 26 weeks pregnant with twins… yes, I’m thankful for the fact that I can keep moving and working hard… yes, I feel lucky to have a supportive family who helps encourage me to keep moving when I can AND rest when I need to… yes, I am still able to do things at CF that others cannot do – not pregnant… and of course YES the babies are staying healthy.

The struggle takes part when I see others training for the CrossFit Open and Regionals… I wouldn’t trade our positions for the world, but it is something I miss. I struggle when I get so out of breath doing what used to be second nature to me. I struggle when I feel changes in my body – even if others don’t (or say they don’t) see it.  I struggle worrying about how long I will be allowed to keep working out (weird right??!!)

I know each day that I keep moving is a success… and each day that the babies stay safe and continue growing is a success… I’ve been told I am just being extra hard on myself and not allowing myself to rest and step back enough. I guess I need to find the TRUE Strength in this struggle and use it as future teaching lessons for the babies.

Now with that rant out of my system… I will take on CrossFit Open WOD 13.1 tomorrow… I will do one (very, very slow) real burpee and then burpee and snatch my way through the rest of the wod using parallettes to burpee on… WHICH I have to say… is hard as hell!  If you haven’t tried using them – go for it! No more using your legs to jump back up and you certainly cannot “just fall down and get back up”!!  Even though I will only be able to enter a score of 1 for tomorrow I will love (?? in a love hate kind of way) every second of that 17 min amrap and the babies will certainly love burpees by the end!  I will give it my all and have fun with it!

WOD on everyone!

Yesterday was a struggle… but today is the climb back up and tomorrow will be a success. 

TRUE Strength

top of front sq

 

 

 

2 responses to “Modify THIS

    • It was all my coach and judge that day!! Thank YOU so much for all your encouragement and positive attitude!!! So thankful we’ve met! Looking forward to all our adventures yet to be had!

Leave a Reply

