patience

Learn the art of patience. Apply discipline to your thoughts when they become anxious over the outcome of a goal. Impatience breeds anxiety, fear, discouragement, and failure. Patience creates confidence, decisiveness, and a rational outlook, which eventually leads to success.
-Brian Adams

Que the cheesy “Deep Thoughts with Jack Handey” music from SNL…

My ever knowledgeable mom sent me this quote with a simple line saying… “I really liked this, thought you might too.”

Now, when you read between the lines the real message said… “you could really internalize this quote… try to work on quieting your ever spinning mind, my dear”

I admit I am not a patient person… I’m patient with others, but with myself and my goals… ummm not so much!

I stress over outcomes that haven’t even happened yet and stress about so many what if situations that I have projected into my future, I set myself up for stress and worry.

With hindsight being 20/20 I’ve been able to learn this lack of patience is what has caused anxiety, fear, discouragement and failure in my CrossFit and other athletic journeys… Since getting pregnant I’ve been able to take a step back from training and competition and gain a much deeper perspective and realigned priorities that will help in reaching new goals and becoming much more successful.

Outside of the CF box, I am learning patience in life. There are SO many unanswered questions and unknowns as we approach the debut of our little twins.  I logically grasp that I cannot predict how things are going to be and cannot know how to handle every situation before we live it… but that doesn’t mean I am not already trying to think through it all… trying to control the outcomes and results.  Patience…

Patience does not mean resting on your laurels… work hard, set goals, work harder… but have patience in the process and confidence in your hard work and life process.

Patience my mind… quiet… in patience comes confidence, decisiveness, and a rational outlook, which eventually leads to success.

Patience in your fitness, patience in your goals, patience in your love, patience in life, and perhaps above all… patience with yourself.

Patience to all of us. 

TRUE Strength

patience

 

5 responses to “patience

  1. Dearest Meg, I believe you got this right on target

    Patience is not easy. Patience is not the path of least resistance, nor the way of the weak. Patience is a demanding and required skill needed to accomplish anything of real importance. The easy way always gets harder. The hard way always get easier. I don’t know where I got that, but I like it and think it is true.

  2. Pingback: Setting Goals | Circle of Stars

Leave a Reply

