Suck it up

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.” – Fred DeVito

What’s the point of doing something if it’s easy?  So many people take the easy road… hit that imaginary “Easy Button”  But what do you really get out of it?  A quick fix, an easy ride, and a poor sense of self and reality.  Suck it up!

So many people are challenge adverse.  

Some may see it as an embarrassment; embarrassing that they aren’t as good as the other person; I even did for a long time.  If I wasn’t as good as someone else doing a workout – I was embarrassed.  Pissed because I’m super competitive, but also embarrassed.  Embarrassed, I couldn’t hit that box jump or do as many pull ups.  Some people shy away from challenges because they want to play the “fair” card.  Imagine the worst annoying voice… “but it’s not fair…” and worse some people claim challenges are only there because other people “just don’t like me.”  Oh come on!  Suck it up!

It’s time for us to put our easy buttons down, stop running from hard work – be it in the gym, at the office or at home. And get after it – do work!  

I’ve released the sense of embarrassment I once felt when I wasn’t as good.  That emotion kept me from reality and kept me from swallowing my pride and going after the hard work.  It gave me a false sense of self and hindered my growth.

Will you really be proud of yourself five years down the road if you’ve gotten by with what’s easy, with doing only what’s the bare minimum?  Even if you work your ass off and don’t accomplish everything at least you know you’ve really put effort out there.

if it doesnt challenge you

2 responses to “Suck it up

Leave a Reply

